You would want to immediately contact an attorney because most attorneys can assist you with getting to the doctor or taking pictures of the accident. You’re going to want to see your doctor and ask if there are medical treatments. A car accident can change your life, so the first thing you’ll want to do before the medical bills start piling up is consult with somebody and get pictures of the automobile and of the accident.
How Important Is It To A Florida Personal Injury Case That Medical Attention Is Sought As Soon As Possible Following An Incident?
Florida has a new Personal Injury Protection (PIP) law. According to the new PIP law, you need to seek treatment with your medical provider within 14 days, or your PIP insurance may deny the coverage.
Does It Look Better To The Insurance Company If I Sought Treatment On Day 1 Versus Day 7?
A lot of injuries will not show up until the adrenaline has worn off, so you may not feel sore until the next day. It’s important to consult with a physician within 24 hours of the accident and make sure that there’s no ongoing injury that could become apparent later. With head injuries, for instance, concussions sometimes take a while to show up.
If I Was Partially At-Fault For The Incident That Caused My Injuries, How Will That Impact My Florida Personal Injury Claim?
Florida goes by the law of comparative fault, so the jury would apportion damages based on the percentage of fault in the accident. It’s not like North Carolina, where if you’re even one percent at fault, you can’t prove a claim.
Will The Insurance Company Have Access To My Past And Present Medical History? Could Prior Injuries Or Treatments Impact My Case?
The insurance company will be able to access any prior cases, accidents, or incidents. You’ll also want to watch out for social media; be careful what you put on social media because the insurance company can download and access all of that information through the litigation.
How Long After A Car Accident Or Other Personal Injury Matter Do I Have To File A Claim In Florida? What Is The Statute Of Limitations?
The statute of limitations in Florida is four years from the date of the accident, and that is a hardline rule. I would not suggest waiting until the fourth year. If the insurance company does not settle the claim within a year, I usually suggest to my clients that they file a suit to protect their claim.
If I Was Struck By An Uninsured Or Underinsured Driver In Florida, Do I Have Any Chance Of Recovering Financially From My Injuries?
You should always have uninsured motorist insurance in the state of Florida because if you are struck by an underinsured or uninsured driver, you’re able to proceed against your own insurance company to compensate you for the damages over and above whatever their policy is. A lot of people in Florida only carry $10,000 in bodily injury, so it’s very important to have uninsured motorist insurance.
If The Insurance Company Offered Me A Settlement Right Away, Should I Go Ahead And Take It? Could I End Up With Less If I Continue My Car Accident Injury Case In Florida?
You should never take the first offer from the insurance company. It’s the job of the insurance adjusters to protect their client; they work for the insurance company, not for you. The insurance company is also not there to assist you; in fact, they get benefits for the lower they can settle the cases.
That’s why you always want to hire an experienced accident attorney in your claim. An experienced attorney is able to examine your case and let you know the value of your claim following an accurate determination of your medical diagnosis. Several types of injuries may not show up until weeks or months after auto accidents. For example, brain injuries, cervical herniation, disc herniation, lumbar disc herniation—a lot of serious problems may not show up within the first month and need to be diagnosed by an MRI or a CT scan before you can accurately say whether that offer from the insurance company is a good one or not.
If It’s Clear The Other Driver Was At-Fault, Why Do I Still Need To Hire A Florida Personal Injury Attorney To Help Me With My Car Accident Case?
Even if the other driver is clearly at fault, there are two sections to damages in Florida. The first thing you have to prove to a jury in Florida is what’s called liability. If the other driver’s clearly at fault, the liability has been proven. That does not guarantee that the insurance company won’t fight you on the second part of the law, which is that you must prove damages. When these types of cases are put in front of the jury, even though the other side might accept some fault, they will still claim that your damages are not as significant as they are. It’s always important, therefore, to hire an experienced personal injury attorney because they work for you, while the insurance company does not.
For more information on Auto Accidents Law in Florida, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (561) 815-8889 today.
Call Me Now For A Strategic Consultation